Register Today for the ‘LIRS Briefing on Comprehensive Immigration Reform: S. 744 and Strategy for Victory in the House’

Published On: Donate

Immigration Reform 2013   jpegI’m pleased to announce an important online event for everyone who’s striving to win fair and compassionate immigration reform.

We’re hearing a lot of questions about where things stand in Congress—so many that we thought it would be better to try to answer them to as large an audience as possible. To get your questions answered, I invite you to sign up for an online session, the “LIRS Briefing on Comprehensive Immigration Reform: S. 744 and Strategy for Victory in the House of Representatives.”

I’ll be presenting, as will our friend David Vásquez, Campus Pastor at Luther College in Decorah, IA, and Brittney Nystrom and Nora Skelly, LIRS Director and Assistant Director for Advocacy.

LIRS and our broad network of social ministry organizations, congregations, and church leaders have long supported fair and humane immigration reform. The bipartisan passage of S. 744 in the U.S. Senate takes major, historic steps towards better protecting and welcoming migrants and refugees. Join us to get your questions answered about what S. 744 would do if enacted into law, learn about our plans for pressuring the House to follow the Senate’s lead, and hear how you can help make a roadmap to citizenship, family unity, just and humane enforcement and protections for refugees, vulnerable populations, and workers a reality in the House of Representatives.

To take part, you’ll need to register. Here are the details:

Wednesday, July 24, 2013
1:30-2:30PM EDT / 12:30-1:30PM CDT / 11:30AM-12:30PM MDT / 10:30AM-11:30AM PDT

Please RSVP here to receive instructions for joining.

Thank you for all that you are doing to Stand for Welcome and achieve comprehensive immigration reform. I hope you will join us for this important briefing!

Leave a Comment

Newsletter Sign Up
Stay up to date with everything going on at LIRS.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.