Scroll down

Our Leadership

LIRS Board of Directors 

The board is composed of 17 members who have knowledge of and commitment to refugees and immigrants. LIRS believes strength is found in diversity and that refugees and immigrants need a voice at the table of influence. All branches of the Lutheran Church, as well as other denominations, are represented on the board. There are also three former refugees or first generation immigrants on the board. The LIRS president is an ex-officio member of the board

Executive Committee

At-Large Members

  • Mrs. Faith Ashton — Chapel Hill, NC
  • The Rev. J. Bart Day — Lutheran Church Extension Fund, St. Louis, MO
  • Ms. Selena Besirevic — Feldmann Nagel, LLC, Denver, CO
  • Mr. Ted Goins — Lutheran Services Carolinas, Salisbury, NC
  • Mr. Orville Johnson — Johnson Kellogg Properties, LLC, Stillwater, MN
  • Mr. Randall Johnson — Washington, DC 
  • Ms. Esther López — United Food and Commercial Workers Union, Washington, DC
  • Mr. Carlos Pena — Kleen Supply Company, Galveston, TX 
  • Dr. Diana Pohle — Jazz Pharmaceuticals, San Jose, CA 
  • Mr. Eddie Resende — World Trade Center Institute, Baltimore, MD 
  • Ms. Evelyn Soto — Evangelical Lutheran Church in America, Chicago IL
  • Ms. Elizabeth Wagner — Princeton Area Community Foundation, Lawrenceville, NJ 


STAFF Leadership

  • Acting President and CEO — Kay Bellor 
  • Chief Operating Officer — Gary Gold-Moritz
  • Chief Financial Officer — Andrew Pepito
  • Chief Information Officer — William Bisbee 
  • Interim Chief Human Resources Officer — Patricia Williams
  • Vice President for Development, Outreach, and Communications — Staci Coomer 
  • General Counsel — Shirley B. LaMotte
  • Director for Refugee Services — Nina Zelic 
  • Director for Children’s Services — Dawnya Underwood
  • Director for Advocacy — Javier Cuebas
  • Director for Development — Mike Coburn
  • Director for Outreach — Folabi Olagbaju
  • Director for Marketing and Communications — Danielle Bernard    
  • Director for Loans Operations and Management — Terry Holthause